We have identified three impoverished Kenyan villages and slum communities through the sponsorship of our children through Compassion UK. We will begin our work here and thereafter identify other impoverished communities in Kenya through our work. We will work with local churches and organisations in Kenya, with an awareness and understanding of cultural ethics.

Kenya is made up of 47 counties. Ikutha is situated in the Tharaka-Nithi county, Kanthoroko in the Kitui county and Kayole in Nairobi County; Nairobi being the capital city of Kenya.

Kenya is a country in East Africa with the Eastern side flanked by the Indian Ocean. It encompasses savannah, lakelands, mountain highlands, including the great Mt. Kilimanjaro, and abundant wildlife such as lions, elephants and rhinos.

There are many ethnic groups in Kenya including Kikuyu, Luhya, Luo, Kalenjin, Kamba, Kisii and Meru. There is a small population of non-African ethnic groups, including Asian, European, and Arab. Many Kenyans speak the mother tongue of their ethnic tribe and many speak both English and Swahili.

Due to the presence and influence of Christian missionaries during the 19th century many Kenyans identify as Christian. There is still a strong presence in the country today of missionaries offering medical, educational and religious aid.

Some tribes have foregone their original beliefs in favour of Christianity whilst others still practice them, the most prominent being the Maasai, Samburu and Turkana tribes. Some still believe in certain facets of their original religions, with ancestor worship and witchcraft still believed in by some. Female Genital Mutilation, currently a very controversial topic around the world, is still widely practised in Kenya despite being outlawed in 2011.


"We can’t help everyone but we (everyone) can help someone." Ronald Reagan

Photos by SuSanA Secretariat